## JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

# Common Council

OF THE

### City of Indianapolis

IN MARION COUNTY, IN THE STATE OF INDIANA

#### SPECIAL MEETING

Monday, January 4, 1926.

The Common Council of the City of Indianapolis met in the Council Chamber, January 4, 1926, at 12:00 Noon, City Clerk William A. Boyce, Jr., in the chair, pursuant to the following call:

To the Members of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana:

Gentlemen:

Pursuant to the law governing the organization of a new Common Council this letter will serve to notify you officially that I will call the newly elected Common Council to order in the Council Chamber of the City Hall at twelve o'clock noon, Monday, January 4, 1926, for the purpose of electing presiding officers for the year 1926.

Respectfully, WILLIAM A. BOYCE, JR., City Clerk.

William A. Boyce, Jr., City Clerk, called the Council to order pursuant to the above call and assigned the nine Councilmen to their sets.

The clerk called the roll:

Present: Boynton J. Moore, Walter R. Dorsett, Claude E. Negley, O. Ray Albertson, Dr. Austin H. Todd. Otis E. Bartholomew, Robert E. Springsteen, Edward B. Raub and Millard W. Ferguson.

Mr. Boyce called on Rev. Bernard W. Bass for a brief invocation.

Mr. Boyce announced the first business in order to be the election of a presiding officer for the year 1926.

Whereupon Councilman Otis E. Bartholomew placed in nomination Councilman Boynton J. Moore which nomination was seconded by Councilman Austin H. Todd.

Councilman Claude E. Negley moved that the nominations be closed which was seconded by Councilman O. Rav Albertson. Carried.

Councilman Walter R. Dorsett moved that the clerk be instructed to vote the nine votes of the Council for Councilman Boynton J. Moore for President for 1926 which was seconded by Councilman O. Ray Albertson. Carried.

Mr. Boyce then declared Councilman Boynton J. Moore elected President of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis for the year 1926 and appointed Councilman Negley and Ferguson to escort President Boynton J. Moore to the chair.

Mr. Boyce presented President Boynton J. Moore with a mahogany gavel, the gift of First Assistant Fire Chief Roy Phillips.

President Boynton J. Moore accepted the gavel and addressed the members of the Council, thanking them for their confidence placed in him by electing him President of the Council.

President Boynton J. Moore announced that the next business in order to be the election of a President Pro Tem.

Councilman Austin H. Todd placed in nomination Councilman Walter R. Dorsett which was seconded by Councilman O. Ray Albertson.

Councilman Claude E. Negley moved that the nominations be closed which was seconded by Councilman Otis E. Bartholomew. Carried.

Councilman O. Ray Albertson moved that the clerk be instructed to vote the nine votes of the Council for Councilman Walter R. Dorsett for President Pro Tem for the year 1926 which was seconded by Councilman Otis E. Bartholomew. Carried.

President Boynton J. Moore announced the next order of business to be the selection of rules to govern the Council.

Councilman O. Ray Albertson moved that the 1925 rules of the preceding Council be adopted to govern the new Council for the year 1926 which was seconded by Councilman Austin H. Todd. Carried.

President Boynton J. Moore then announced the next order of business to be the appointment of Council Committees. The appointments announced by President Boynton J. Moore were as follows:

#### FINANCE COMMITTEE

O. Ray Albertson, Chairman; Walter R. Dorsett, Claude E. Negley, Dr. Austin H. Todd, Otis E. Bartholomew.

#### PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE

Walter R. Dorsett, Chairman; O. Ray Albertson, Otis E. Bartholomew, Dr. Austin H. Todd, Claude E. Negley.

#### PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE

Claude E. Negley, Chairman; Otis E. Bartholomew, Dr. Austin H. Todd, Walter R. Dorsett, Millard W. Ferguson.

#### PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES

Dr. Austin H. Todd, Chairman; Otis E. Bartholomew, Claude E. Negley, Edward B. Raub, Robert E. Springsteen.

#### PARK COMMITTEE

Otis E. Bartholomew, Chairman; Walter R. Dorsett, Dr. Austin H. Todd, Claude E. Negley, O. Ray Albertson.

#### LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Dr. Austin H. Todd, Chairman; Otis E. Bartholomew, Claude E. Negley, Robert E. Springsteen, Edward B. Raub.

#### ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

Claude E. Negley, Chairman; Otis E. Bartholomew, O. Ray Albertson, Dr. Austin H. Todd, Millard W. Ferguson.

#### CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE

Otis E. Bartholomew, Chairman; Dr. Austin H. Todd, Claude E. Negley, Robert E. Springsteen, Edward B. Raub.

#### ATHLETIC COMMISSION

Walter R. Dorsett, Chairman; Dr. Austin H. Todd, O. Ray Albertson, Millard W. Ferguson, Edward B. Raub, Claude E. Negley, Otis E. Bartholomew.

On motion of Councilman Walter R. Dorsett, seconded by Councilman Otis E. Bartholomew, the Common Council, at 12:40 p. m., January 4, 1926, adjourned.

Rogerton Moore
President.

Attest:

City Clerk.