## JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE .

## COMMON COUNCIL

OF THE

## CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS,

In Marion County, in the State of Indiana.

FIRST REGULAR MEETING.

COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, IND.

MONDAY, January 3, 1910, 7:30 p. m.

The records and files in the office of the City Clerk of the City of Indianapolis, a city located in Marion County, in the State of Indiana, and governed by and under an act of the General Assembly of said State entitled, "An act concerning municipal corporations," approved March 6, 1905 (see laws 64th Regular Session, Chapter 129, pages 219 to 410 and commonly called "The Cities and Towns Act,") showing that at the election held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday of November, 1909, being the 2d day of said month, the following officers of

said city were duly elected, all of whom have qualified according to said act, to-wit:

SAMUEL LEWIS SHANK, Mayor. EDWARD A. RAMSAY, City Clerk. JAMES A. COLLINS, Judge City Court.

Councilmen-at-Large.

WILLIAM H. JOHNSON.
CHARLES F. COPELAND.
GEORGE L. DENNY.
FRED C. OWEN.
CHARLES B. STILZ.
JOHN BLUMBERG.
FRANK E. MCCARTHY.
GEORGE B. RUBENS.
JAMES E. TROY.

The Common Council held its first meeting on the first Monday in January, 1910, at 7:30 p. m., in the Council Chamber, located in the Police Station, and was called to order by Edward A. Ramsay, City Clerk, who called the roll of the nine Councilmen-at-Large, all of whom answered to their respective names.

The City Clerk announced nine members present and stated the first business in order to be the election of a presiding officer for the year 1910.

Whereupon Councilman Stilz placed in nomination William H. Johnson, which nomination was seconded by Councilmen Copeland and Owen.

Councilman McCarthy placed in nomination James E. Troy, which nomination was seconded by Councilmen Rubens.

There being no further nominations City Clerk Ramsay announced the nominations closed, and stated as the roll was called, each Councilman answer, indicating his choice for President.

The Clerk called the roll, which resulted as follows:

Those voting for Mr. Johnson, 6, viz.: Messrs. Blumberg, Copeland, Denny, Johnson, Owen and Stilz.

Those voting for Mr. Troy, 3, viz.: Messrs. McCarthy, Rubens and Trov.

City Clerk Ramsay announced the result of the vote and declared Councilman Johnson duly elected President of the Common Council for the year 1910, and appointed Messrs. Stilz and Troy to escort President Johnson to the chair.

Whereupon the President took the chair and announced as the next order of business the election of a presiding officer pro tem.

Councilman Stilz placed in nomination John Blumberg, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Owen and Copeland.

The minority having no candidate, Mr. Stilz moved the nomination be closed. Carried.

The Clerk called the roll which resulted in a unanimous vote for Mr. Blumberg as follows:

Messrs. Blumberg, Copeland, Denny, McCarthy, Owen, Reubens, Stilz, Troy and President William H. Johnson.

President Johnson announced the result of the vote and declared Councilman Blumberg elected President pro tem, of the Common Council for the year 1910.

## MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS.

Mr. Denny moved that a Special Committee on Rules, consisting of three members be appointed by the President and a recess of 15 minutes be taken for the committee to make a report.

Mr. Troy moved to amend by deferring the report of the committee until the next regular meeting.

The roll was called and the motion to amend carried by the following vote:

Ayes, 5, viz.: Messrs. Copeland, McCarthy, Owen, Reubens and Troy.

Noes, 4, viz.: Messrs. Blumberg, Denny, Stilz and President William H. Johnson.

The roll was then called on the original question as amended, resulting as follows:

Ayes, 7, viz.: Messrs. Copeland, Denny, McCarthy, Owen, Reubens, Troy and President William H. Johnson.

Noes, 2, viz.: Messrs. Blumberg and Stilz.

ATTEST

On motion of Mr. Copeland, the Common Council, at 7:50 o'clock P M., adjourned.

President.

City Clerk.

TRADES UNION COUNCIL 12