## SPECIAL MEETING

Friday, April 13, 1928, 1:30 P. M.

The Common Council of the City of Indianapolis met in the Council Chamber, Friday, April 13, 1928, at 1:30 p. m., pursuant to the following call:

To the Members of the Common Council, Indianapolis, Indiana: Gentlemen—

You are hereby notified that there will be a Special Meeting of the Common Council held in the Council Chamber on Friday, April 13, at 1:30 p. m., the purpose of such Special Meeting being to fill the vacancies caused by the resignations of Messrs. Alberton and Todd of the Third and Fourth districts, respectively, and to receive communications from councilmen. Also to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Otis E. Bartholomew, of the Fifth district.

Respectfully,

EDWARD B. RAUB
ALBERT F. MEURER
MEREDITH NICHOLSON
JOHN F. WHITE
ROBERT E. SPRINGSTEEN

Members, Common Council.

I, William A. Boyce, Jr., Clerk of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, do hereby certify that I have served the above and foregoing notice to each and every member of the Common Council prior to the time of such Special Meeting, pursuant to the rules.

In witness whereof, I have hereunto affixed my signature and caused the seal of the City of Indianapolis to be affixed.

WILLIAM A. BOYCE, JR.,

City Clerk.

By Margaret Inman, Deputy.

Which was read.

Mr. Edward B. Raub acted as chairman.

The Clerk called the roll:

Present: Mr. Edward B. Raub, Chairman, and five members, viz: Herman P. Lieber, Albert F. Meurer, Meredith Nicholson, Robert E. Springsteen, John F. White.

Mr. Linton A. Cox, of the Board of Trade, representing the joint committee from the Chamber of Commerce Civic Affairs Committee, the City Manager League and the Board of Trade, addressed the Council. Mr. Cox suggested the following names: For the Third District: Edward W. Harris, D. J. Angus, Mrs. Frank D. Hatfield, Guy M. Wainwright. For the Fourth District: Horace B. Hewitt, the Rev. Clarence G. Baker, Earl Buchanan.

Mr. White moved that Mr. Walter Gerdt's declination of the election as Councilman from the Fifth District be accepted. The motion was seconded by Mr. Springsteen, and adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Springsteen nominated Mr. Edward W. Harris, Mr. D. J. Angus, Mrs. Frank D. Hatfield, and Mr. Guy M. Wainwright, for Councilman from the Third District.

A citizen in the audience presented a petition containing 162 signatures suggesting the name of John P. Sears. Mr. Nicholson placed the name of Mr. Sears in nomination. Mr. White moved that the nominations be closed. The motion was seconded by Mr. Springsteen and adopted by consent.

The balloting proceeded as follows:

Mr. Lieber voted for Mr. Harris.

Mr. Meurer voted for Mr. Harris.

Mr. Nicholson voted for Mr. Harris.

Mr. Springsteen voted for Mr. Harris.

Mr. White voted for Mr. Harris.

Mr. Raub voted for Mr. Harris.

Mr. Edward Harris was declared duly elected as Councilman from the Third District.

Mr. Springsteen nominated Mr. Horace B. Hewitt, the Rev. Clarence G. Baker and Mr. Earl Buchanan for Councilman from the Fourth District.

Mr. White moved that the nominations be closed. The motion was seconded by Mr. Springsteen and adopted by consent.

The balloting proceeded as follows:

## First ballot:

Mr. Lieber voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. Meurer voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. Nicholson voted for Rev. Baker.

Mr. Springsteen voted for Mr. Hewitt.

Mr. White voted for Rev. Baker.

Mr. Raub voted for Mr. Buchanan.

## Second ballot:

Mr. Lieber voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. Meurer voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. Nicholson voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. Springsteen voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. White voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. Raub voted for Mr. Buchanan.

Mr. Earl Buchanan was declared duly elected as Councilman from the Fourth District.

Mr. Springsteen nominated Mr. H. H. Bishop and Mr. Paul E. Rathert as Councilman from the Fifth District. A Mr. Dynes, representing Mr. Bishop, asked that his name be withdrawn from the nomination. Mr. Dynes presented the name of Mr. Samuel Cooper to the Council. Mr. Meurer nominated Mr. Cooper.

Mr. Meurer moved that the nominations be closed. The motion was seconded by Mr. Nicholson, and adopted by consent.

The balloting proceeded as follows:

First ballot:

Mr. Lieber voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Meurer voted for Mr. Cooper.

Mr. Nicholson voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Springsteen voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. White voted for Mr. Cooper.

Mr. Raub voted for Mr. Rathert.

Second ballot:

Mr. Lieber voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Meurer voted for Mr. Cooper.

Mr. Nicholson voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Springsteen voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. White voted for Mr. Cooper.

Mr. Raub voted for Mr. Rathert.

## Third ballot:

Mr. Lieber voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Meurer voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Nicholson voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Springsteen voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. White voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Raub voted for Mr. Rathert.

Mr. Paul Rathert was declared duly elected as Councilman from the Fifth District.

On motion of Mr. Meurer, seconded by Mr. Nicholson, the Common Council adjourned at 2:34 p. m.

We hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a full, true and complete record of the proceedings of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, held on the 13th day of April, 1928, at 1:30 o'clock, p. m.

In witness whereof, we hereunto subscribed our signatures and caused the seal of the City of Indianapolis to be affixed.

William a. Boycefr.

City Clerk

(SEAL)