SPECIAL MEETING

COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, IND.

October 31, 1921.

The Common Council of the City of Indianapolis met in the Council Chamber, October 31, 1921, at 12:00 o'clock noon, in special session, President Pro Tem. Jacob E. Brown in the chair, pursuant to the following call:

October 29, 1921.

To the Members of the Common Council, Indianapolis, Indiana.

You are hereby notified that there will be a special meeting of the Common Council held in the Council Chamber on Monday, October 31, 1921, at 7:30 P. M. o'clock, the purpose of such meeting being to receive communications from the Mayor or City Controller of said City for the introduction and consideration of resolutions providing for the changing of voting places and Inspectors for the City Election to be held on the 8th day of November, 1921.

Respectfully,

RUSSELL WILLSON,

President.

I, George O. Hutsell, Clerk of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, do hereby certify that I have served the above and foregoing notice to each and every member of the Common Council prior to the time of meeting, pursuant to the rules.

City Clerk.

Which was read.

The Clerk called the roll.

Present: The Hon. Jacob P. Brown, President pro tem. of the Common Council, and five (5) members, viz.: Messrs. Carnefix, Furniss, Kirsch, Peake and Schmidt.

Absent: Messrs. Miller, Pettijohn, and President Willson.

Introduction of Resolutions.

By Mr. Peake:

RESOLUTION NO. 22, 1921.

Be it resolved, by the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, that the attached list of places shall be and are hereby declared to be the places of holding election in the several precincts named in the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, to be held on Tuesday, the 8th day of November, 1921, for the city election in the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, in substitution and instead of the places heretofore designated and fixed for holding election in such precincts by this Council.

VOTING PLACE CHANGES.

FIRST WARD:

Second Precinct—From 2735 N. Dearborn to 2810 N. Dearborn.

SECOND WARD:

Ninth Precinct—From 1848 Central Avenue to rear 4th Presbyterian Church, 19th and Alabama.

FOURTH WARD:

Second Precinct—From rear of 541 E. 22nd to rear 541 E. 32nd St. Nineteenth Precinct—From 1805 Sugar Grove Ave. to 1723 Montcalm St.

FOURTH WARD:

First Precinct—From 917 N. California St. to 719 N. California St.

SIXTH WARD:

Third Precinct—From 1623 N. West Street to 623 N. West St.

EIGHTH WARD:

Third Precinct—From 1564 N. Alabama St. to 1524 N. Alabama St. Seventh Precinct—From 939 E. 13th St. to 719 E. 13th St.

SEVENTH WARD:

First Precinct-From 713 Mass. Ave. to 740 Mass. Ave.

NINTH WARD:

Tenth Precinct—From Northwest corner Hamilton and Washington to 2042 E. Washington.

TENTH WARD:

Seventh Precinct—From 1154 Laurel to 1202 S. Linden.

TWELFTH WARD:

Sixth Freeinct—From 852 S. Illinois St. to 924 S. Illinois St. Seventh Precinct—From 812 Chadwick St. to 824 Meikel St.

FOURTEENTH WARD:

First Precinct—From 1206 Oliver Avenue to 563 Warren Ave. Seventh Precinct-From 2127 W. Morris St. to 2106 W. Morris St.

NINTH WARD:

Fifteenth Precinct—From 206 S. Audubon Rd. to 201 S. Audubon Rd.

TWELFTH WARD:

Fourth Precinct—From 744 S. Capitol to 713 S. Illinois.

Which was read a first time.

Mr. Peake moved that the rules be suspended and Resolution No. 22, 1921, be placed upon its passage.

The roll was called and the motion to suspend the rules was carried by the following vote:

Ayes, 6, viz.: Messrs. Carnefix, Furniss, Kirsch, Peake, Schmidt and President Pro Tem. Jacob P. Brown.

Mr. Peake called for Resolution No. 22, 1921, for second reading. It was read a second time.

Mr. Peake moved that Resolution No. 22, 1921, be adopted. Resolution No. 22, 1921, was read a third time and adopted by the following vote:

Aves, 6, viz.: Messrs. Carnefix, Furniss, Kirsch, Peake, Schmidt and President Pro. Tem. Jacob P. Brown.

By Mr. Peake:

RESOLUTION NO. 23, 1921.

Be it resolved by the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, that the persons whose names are hereinafter set out, be and are appointed and elected to serve as election inspectors in the several precincts, indicated, of the City of Indianapolis, Marion County, Indiana, at the election to be held Tuesday, November 8, 1921, in said City in place of the persons heretofore appointed and elected to serve in such precincts by this Council.

FIRST WARD:

Fourth Precinct—Change address of George W. Sites from 2341 Adams Street to 2341 N. LaSalle St.

SECOND WARD:

Tenth Precinct—Change inspector from Martin Hyland, 2101 Park Avenue, to Jos. K. Cooper, 2143 Broadway.

FOURTH WARD:

Seventh Precinct—Change inspector from Virley Rudd, 3441 N. Illinois, to J. Clyde Hoffman, 3446 Salem.

Tenth Precinct—Change inspector from Albert Snyder, 651 Eugene Street, to Clinton H. Givan, 2919 Highland Place.

Nineteenth Precinct—Change inspector from Everett Smith, 2002 Schurman Avenue, to Clyde Cranor, 1216 W. 18th St.

T

81

car

Sch

rea

Res

by :

FIFTH WARD:

None.

SIXTH WARD:

Fifth Precinct—Change inspector from Clarence Hess, 429 W. New York Street, to Oscar Richardson, 509 W. Washington.

NINTH WARD:

Second Precinct—Change inspector from Charles Hurst (Claude), to Ben Soltau, 101 N. Sherman Drive.

Fifth Precinct—Change inspector from Wm. D. Dunlop, 847 N. Hamilton Ave., to C. J. Keiser, 612 N. Hamilton Ave.

Sixth Precinct—Change the name of Goodman to Goodwin.

TENTH WARD:

Second Precinct—Change the inspector from Charles Richardson, to Clyde Sharkey, 1603 Bates.

Fourth Precinct—Change the inspector from George Driftmeyer to Rowland Woodruff, 831 S. Randolph.

ELEVENTH WARD:

Fifth Precinct—Change the inspector from Robert McClintock, 605 Stevens, to Andrew Underwood, 627 Stevens.

Eighth Precinct—Change the inspector from John McFeely, 859 Buchanan, to Edward E. Kuhns, 857 Buchanan.

TWELFTH WARD:

Second Precinct—Change the inspector from Elix Chinea, 445½ W. Washington, to Louis Jones, 401 W. Pearl.

Sixth Precinct—Change the inspector from Emil Fishman, 838 S. Illinois, to Wm. L. Smith, 25 E. McCarty.

THIRTEENTH WARD:

Eighth Precinct—Change the inspector from Gottlieb Knittel, 1037 Union, to James Robinson, 1333 Charles.

FOURTEENTH WARD:

First Precinct—Change the name of Homer Guerin, 1011 Henry Street to Orville Guerin, 1011 Henry Street.

Seventh Precinct—Change the address of Frank Hyde from 2120 Morgan Street to 2120 Martha Street.

FIFTEENTH WARD:

Twelfth Precinct—Change the inspector from Fred Byrum, 1036 N. King Ave., to Horace McCalment, 1240 N. King.

THIRTEENTH WARD:

Sixth Precinct—Change name of Jos. B. Santers, to John P. Santers, 2254 Union St.

SIXTH WARD:

Seventh Precinct—Change the name of Frank Shellhouse, Spink Arms, to Will E. Berner, 320 N. Meridian St.

Which was read a first time.

Mr. Peake moved that the rules be suspended and Resolution No. 23, 1921, be placed upon its passage.

The roll was called and the motion to suspend the rules was carried by the following vote:

Aves, 6, viz.: Messrs. Carnefix, Furniss, Kirsch, Peake, Schmidt and President Pro Tem. Jacob P. Brown.

Mr. Peake called for Resolution No. 23, 1921, for second reading. It was read a second time.

Mr. Peake moved that Resolution No. 23, 1921, be adopted. Resolution No. 23, 1921, was read a third time and adopted by the following vote:

Ayes, 6, viz.: Messrs. Carnefix, Furniss, Kirsch, Peake, Schmidt and President Pro Tem. Jacob P. Brown.

On motion of Mr. Kirsch, the Common Council at 9:50 o'clock P. M. adjourned.

President Pro Tem:

Attest:

City Clerk.