# SPECIAL MEETING.

Council Chamber, City of Indianapolis, Ind.
Tuesday, August 3, 1903.

The Common Council of the City of Indianapolis met in the Council Chamber, Tuesday morning, August 3, 1809, at 12:05 o'clock, in special session, President Edward J. Stickelman in the chair, pursuant to the following call:

Indianapolis, Ind., August 3, 1909.

To the Members of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana:

Gentlemen: You are hereby notified that there will be a special meeting of the Common Council in the Council Chamber on Tuesday, August 3, 1909, at 12:05 o'clock a. m., for the purpose of considering and taking action on Resolution No. 2, 1909.

E. J. STICKELMAN, President.

I, James McNulty, Clerk of the Common Council, do hereby certify that I have served the above and foregoing notice to each and every member of the Common Council, prior to the time of meeting, pursuant to the rules.

JAMES McNulty, City Clerk.

Which was read.

The Clerk called the roll.

Present: The Hon. Edward J. Stickelman, President of the Common Council, and 14 members, viz: Messrs. Brown, Cottey, Hamlet, Davis, Eppert, Neukom, Smither, Rhodes, Smith, Uhl, Hartmann, Royse, Hofmann and Wright.

Absent, 6, viz: Messrs. Wood, Portteus, Donavon, Sullivan, Hilkene and Henry.

At 12:10 o'clock A. M. Messrs. Wood, Portteus, Donavon, Sullivan and Henry entered the Council Chamber and took their seats.

#### REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES.

From the Committee on Elections:

Indianapolis, Ind., August 2, 1909.

To the President and Members of the Common Council:

Gentlemen: Your Committee on Elections, to which was referred Resolution No. 2, 1909, providing for Primary Election Inspectors, begs leave to report that it recommends striking out the names therein contained and substituting the following:

### FIRST WARD.

Precinct I—Walter Sears.
2—David Styer.
3—Charles Buchanan.
4—B. J. C. Howe.
5—H. H. Clark.
6—Arthur Alexander.
7—William G. Inman.
8—George Sale.
9—J. D. Hoss.
10—David Greenwood.

## SECOND WARD.

Precinct I—Charles Forbes. 2—E. G. Ritchie, 3—Albert South, 4—J. E. Spratt. 5—Robert Fisher. 6—Elton B. Elliott.

#### THIRD WARD.

Precinct 1—Schuyler Haas. 2—H. C. Campbell. 3—Chas. C. Gilmore. 4—A. W. Moore. 5—Geo. Adams. 6—Wm. Lawrence. 7—Wm. Taylor. 8—Walter Hodge.

## FOURTH WARD.

Precinct 1.—Francis M. Springer.
2—J. J. Curtey.
3—William King.
4—William F. Lander.
5—A. R. Hollingsworth.
6—King Prentiss.
7—John Wyman.
8—
9—John Ford.
10—A. J. Allen.

#### FIFTH WARD.

Precinct I—Albert Johnson.
2—D. E. Smith.
3—Squire Marshall.
4—Robt. Taylor.
5—
6—
7—

#### SIXTH WARD.

Precinct I—W. A. Rhodes.
2—John Buckner.
3—Bert Elbert.
4—Albert Wishard.
5—Geo. Mull.
6—Ernest Tripp.
7—James Melton.

## SEVENTH WARD.

Precinct I—T. C. Boyd.
2—David Partlow.
3—Emerson Druly.
4—John Bowlus.
5—Chas. H. Black.
6—J. S. Long.
7—J. J. Ray.
8—A. J. Keppel.

#### EIGHTH WARD.

Precinct I—Ezra A. Hardin.
2—Harry C. Adams.
3—Harry S. Fraser.
4—David W. Coffin.
5—Lawrence B. Davis.
6—W. W. Webb.

### NINTH WARD.

Precinct ı—William E. Bryant.

2-E. E. Wiker.

2—E. E. Wikel.
3—Charles L. Trobaugh
4—Charles Jones.
5—Gus Rostburg.
6—Edward B. Whitehead.
7—Harry Seibert.
8—Al, Taffe.

9—Cassius L. Hogle.

### TENTH WARD.

Precinct

I—Joseph A. Moore.
2—James G. Hamilton.
3—Thomas E. Christie.
4—William Dunlop.
5—Elmer Shields.
6—David Smock.

7—Harry Wilcox.
8—J. V. Baxter.
9—Willis W. Wills.
10—George W. Summers.

#### ELEVENTH WARD.

Precinct I—James Boyd. 2—Marion Caldwell.

3—James F. Quinn. 4—Louis Bruenig.

5—Valentine Meyers.

6—Dennis Travers. 7—Chas. Mueller. 8—Frank Hamilton.

9—Lee Fulmer.

#### TWELFTH WARD.

1—Dan S. Spoon. 2—David Weaver. 3—Louis Ziegler. 4—John Sullivan. 5—Geo. W. Pierce. Precinct

7—John O. Ayres.

# THIRTEENTH WARD.

1-William South. Precinct

2—Lloyd Taylor.

3-Bert Overstreet.

4—David Arbuckle.

5—Jno. Vanostrand. 6—C. W. Koss. 7—Philip C. Winter. 8—Walter Sourbier. 9—Joseph Seyfried.

#### FOURTEENTH WARD.

Precinct 1-J. S. Caty.

2—Freeman Hughes. 3-Patrick McNulty.

4—Lewis McKinney. 5—Chas. R. Lentz. 6—Wyatt Osborn.

7—Shuble Cravens.

# FIFTEENTH WARD.

Precinct 1—James Haught.

2-A. L. Roberts.

3—Oliver S. Sander.

4—Jacob Foltz.
5—Frederick S. Gorham.
6—Harry Klintworth.
7—Bert. Fitzwater.

8—James O. Steele.

Respectfully submitted,

HARRY E. ROYSE. OTTO HOFMANN.

Mr. Royse moved that the report of the committee be concurred in.

Mr. Eppert moved to lay on the table.

Mr. Eppert called for the "ayes" and "noes."

The roll was called and the motion of Mr. Eppert was lost by the following vote:

Ayes, 8, viz: Messrs. Brown, Cottey, Davis, Eppert, Neukom, Uhl, Hartmann and Wright,

Noes, 12, viz: Messrs. Hamlet, Wood, Smither, Rhodes, Smith, Portteus, Royse, Donavon, Sullivan, Hofmann, Henry and President Edward J. Stickelman.

President Stickelman called for the vote on the motion of Mr. Royse to concur in the report of the Committee on Elections.

Mr. Eppert called for the "ayes" and "noes."

The roll was called and the report of the committee was concurred in by the following vote:

Ayes, 11, viz: Messrs. Hamlet, Wood, Smither, Rhodes, Smith, Royse, Donavon, Sullivan, Hofmann, Henry and President Edward J. Stickelman.

Noes, 9, viz: Messrs. Brown, Cottey, Davis, Eppert, Neukom, Uhl, Hartmann, Portteus and Wright.

Mr. Royse moved Resolution No. 2, 1909, be adopted as amended by the committee.

Mr. Eppert called for the "ayes" and "noes."

The roll was called and Resolution No. 2, 1909, was adopted by the following vote:

Ayes, 12, viz: Messrs. Hamlet, Wood, Smither, Rhodes, Smith, Portteus, Royse, Donavon, Sullivan, Hofmann, Henry and President Edward J. Stickelman.

Noes, 8, viz: Messrs. Brown, Cottey, Davis, Eppert, Neukom, Uhl, Hartmann and Wright.

On motion of Mr. Royse, the Common Council, at 12:30 o'clock A M., adjourned.

President.

ATTEST:

City Clerk.

TRADES PROPIEDUREIL 12

ames. M.